Friday, Oct. 28, 2016    Login | Register        

Miss Starr's Mill Pageant postponed

Update - Thursday, Jan. 13 - Due to the closing of Fayette County Schools on Thursday, Jan. 13, the Miss Starr's Mill Scholarship Pageant has now been canceled altogether for this coming weekend. It will be rescheduled at a later date.

The 10th annual Miss Starr’s Mill Scholarship Pageant, the largest high school scholarship pageant of its kind, will be held Jan. 14 and 15 in Starr’s Mill High School’s Duke Auditorium.

Twenty-two contestants, all Starr’s Mill students, will compete for $7,000 in scholarship money to be awarded at the finals on Saturday evening. Contestants will be judged on casual and evening wear, as well as a personal talent and interview. This year’s competition will feature contestants who sing, dance, Irish dance, clog, play the violin or perform a monologue, just to name a few talents.

The contestants are divided into two groups. On Friday, there will be preliminaries for both Groups A and B. Both groups will compete in casual and evening wear along with their talents. Group A contestants include: Sarah Burney, Heather Tucker, Amanda Coppola, Kaitlyn Fultz, Bailee Hull, Morgan Lindros, Amanda McKenzie, Leoghain Strnad, Carolyn Balkovetz, Kathryn Anderson and Liz Buckalew. Group B contestants include: Lauren Roland, Adrianna Perry, Jessica Kurtz, Julie Burns, Aaliyah Nunn, Megan Sutliff, Triana Browne Hearrell, Rachel LaRocca, Carly Baker, Lindsay Quandt and Amy Docalavich.

On Saturday, all 22 contestants will meet with the judges for an interview. Then, Saturday evening, the top 10 will be announced; all scores will be erased, except for the interview; and the top 10 will once again compete in talent and casual and evening wear. At the end of the evening, the judges will name 4th, 3rd, 2nd and 1st runners-up and, finally, Miss Starr’s Mill 2011.

Miss Starr’s Mill 2010, Katie Iampietro, will dance on Saturday night, and Maegan Ewing, Miss Starr’s Mill 2008, will sing on Friday evening. Both Iampietro and Ewing will serve as masters of ceremony for the pageant.

The pageant, founded and directed by David Spearman, is sponsored by the SMHS Drama Department. The preliminaries on Jan. 14 begin at 7 p.m., and the finals on Jan. 15 start at 7:30 p.m. Tickets cost $7 per evening or $15 for three-evening pass.

For more information, call the school at 770-486-2710.


Ad space area 4 internal