Tuesday, Dec. 6, 2016    Login | Register        

Detailed commission district map proposals published

Fayette County officials have released more detailed maps depicting the two options for new county commission districts that will be considered tomorrow night by the commission.

The new maps are attached at the bottom of this story in a PDF format

Both maps would retain the at-large voting format, which allows all county residents to vote on all five commission posts. One of the proposals would keep the current three-district scheme, which requires that three of five commissioners live in one of the districts while candidates for the two other seats may live anywhere in Fayette County.

The other proposal would shift to a five-district setup, which would require that candidates for all five commission seats run for the post that correlates with the district in which they live.

Commissioner Steve Brown, who wants to adopt the three-district map, is advocating for one of the at-large seats to be dedicated to a chairman, which means county residents would elect the chairman in lieu of the current process whereby the commission votes on its chairman each year.


Ad space area 4 internal