Thursday, May. 28, 2015    Login | Register           

Fayette's STARS are announced

The Fayette County Public School System congratulates the following high school seniors and their selected teachers for being named to the 2011 STAR (Student Teacher Achievement Recognition) program.

Fayette County High, Mary Grace Ernst (student), Jan Daniel (teacher); McIntosh High, Brahma Natarajan (student and regional winner), Mary Wilde (retired J.C. Booth Middle science teacher); Sandy Creek High, Poonim Daya (student), Monica Dorner (teacher); Starr’s Mill High, Justin Buchanan (student), Dr. Stephen Clark (teacher); and Whitewater High, Kaitlyn Chapman (student), Cathy Nix (teacher).

The STAR program honors Georgia's outstanding high school seniors and the teachers who have been most instrumental in their academic development. During the past 53 years, the STAR Program has honored more than 22,000 high school seniors.

The Professional Association of Georgia Educators (PAGE) Foundation, Inc. was selected in 1994 by the Georgia Chamber of Commerce to coordinate the state STAR program in association with the Chamber and the Georgia Department of Education.

All STAR students and their teachers will be honored at the PAGE STAR Banquet on Apr. 18 in Atlanta.


Ad space area 4 internal

Sponsored Content


At the Peachtree City Memorial Day ceremony on Monday, Mike King did a nice job of focusing attention on a few of our own who died far too young serving the rest of us.