Monday, Oct. 24, 2016    Login | Register        


• Kiana Courtney from Fayetteville Kristin McClure from Tyrone were named to the Spring 2013 Dean’s List at Wake Forest University.
Students who achieve a 3.4 and no grade below a C were named to the list.

• Air Force Airman Daniel M. Johnson graduated from basic military training at Joint Base San Antonio-Lackland, San Antonio, Texas.
The airman completed an intensive, eight-week program that included training in military discipline and studies, Air Force core values, physical fitness, and basic warfare principles and skills.

Airmen who complete basic training earn four credits toward an associate in applied science degree through the Community College of the Air Force.
Johnson is the son of Royce Johnson of Korinna Court, Peachtree City, and brother of Sarah Johnson of Hall Mixon Road, Tifton.

He is a 2009 graduate of Starr’s Mill High School. He earned an associate degree in 2011 from Georgia Military College, Fairburn.

• Karla Dietmeyer of Peachtree City, Ga., received the bachelor of arts degree in music cum laude from Luther College.
A national liberal arts college with an enrollment of 2,500, Luther offers an academic curriculum that leads to the bachelor of arts degree in 60 majors and pre-professional programs.

• Peachtree City resident Briana Mongerson, a senior at Oglethorpe University, will study abroad in Ecuador during summer 2013 as part of the Oglethorpe’s partnership program with the nonprofit Global LEAD.
A graduate of Whitewater High School, Mongerson is majoring in communications and rhetoric studies and minoring in sociology at Oglethorpe. Mongerson is active in the campus community, serving as a First Year Seminar mentor, an Orientation Leader in 2011 and 2012, and as a member of the Black & Gold Club in the Office of Admission.

Oglethorpe University and Global LEAD partnered in 2012 to deliver leadership and service-learning curriculum abroad. During summer 2013, more than 130 students from 30 universities will travel on Global LEAD experiences to Ecuador, Greece and Cape Town, South Africa.
LEAD Ecuador takes place from June 30-July 27, 2013.

• Ashley Trautner, a senior in Finance from Fayetteville was named to the spring semester Dean’s List at Bryant University.
Bryant University in Smithfield, R.I., is a leading private university offering an innovative and uniquely integrated business and liberal arts education.

• Samantha Dean, of Fayetteville, was recognized at the 2013 Spring Awards Banquet held annually by the University of Georgia’s Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources. Dean, daughter of Ana and Matthew Dean, won the Alumni Scholarship.
The Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources, founded in 1906, is the oldest such school in the South.

• Kristen Black, of Fayetteville was recognized at the 2013 Spring Awards Banquet in late April, held annually by the University of Georgia’s Warnell School of Forestry and Natural Resources. Black, daughter of Donna and Ken Black, won the Martha Love May Memorial Scholarship.

• The Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans is honored to announce Zeshan S. Velani of Fayetteville won a Horatio Alger Georgia Scholarship. These scholarships are made possible with generous support from the O. Wayne Rollins Foundation. Horatio Alger scholarship recipients have been chosen based on their demonstrated commitment to education, dedication to community service, and strength of character in overcoming personal obstacles to achieve academic excellence.
Each scholar will receive $5,000 that will go toward their college tuition, fees, books and on-campus room and board.

• Amy Diffenderfer of Peachtree City was named to the Dean’s List at Anderson University for the spring semester. In order to be named to the Dean’s List, a student must maintain a 3.5 grade point average or higher for the semester.
Anderson University is a selective comprehensive university offering bachelors, masters, and doctoral degrees on campus and online. Anderson is ranked in the Top Tier of US News and World Report’s America’s Best Colleges and is on that publication’s list of the 49 “Up & Coming” universities in America. It is also ranked as one of America’s “100 Best College Buys.”

• Cadet Catherine Deloney Steele, daughter of Col. (Ret.) and Mrs. Michael Steele of Madison, Ga., graduated from the U.S. Military Academy.
Steele graduated from McIntosh High School in 2009. While at West Point, she concentrated her studies in American Legal Studies. She was commissioned as a second lieutenant in the U.S. Army within the Adjutant General Corps branch and will report to Fort Lewis, Wash. for her first assignment.

Valdosta State University has announced the names of students from Spring 2013 who have earned the academic status of Dean’s List.
Students who achieve a semester GPA of 3.50 or higher on nine (9) or more semester hours with an institutional (VSU) GPA of 3.00 or higher are recognized by being placed on the Dean’s List. Developmental Studies, transients and graduate students are not eligible for Dean’s List status.

Area students include Frank Dominic Amoroso, of Peachtree City, Tanner Tai Blue, of Fayetteville, Rebeca Bonilla, of Fayetteville, Samantha Ashley Bryan, of Tyrone, Ian Bruce Cabot, of Fayetteville, Nicholas Glenn Collins, of Peachtree City, Lauren Catherine Duncan, of Tyrone, Andrew P Espinosa, of Peachtree City, Brittany May Gailey, of Fayetteville, Andrew C Grayson, of Fayetteville, Ashton Alexandria Higdon, of Peachtree City, Justyce Lanae Launa Lewis, of Fayetteville, Margaret Anna Maynard, of Fayetteville, Kaitlin Marie Menley, of Fayetteville, Renee Allison Milner, of Fayetteville, Crystal Lashawn Paden, of Fayetteville, Kyndall Noelle Pratt, of Fayetteville, Alexandria Aretha Ross, of Fayetteville, Gary Neal Royal, of Fayetteville, Keiria Marchey Saulsberry, of Tyrone, Alexandrea Victoria Shavers, of Fayetteville,Brett Lane Stephens, of Peachtree City, Jessica Alexandra Storm, of Fayetteville, Joseph Charlton Trevena, of Peachtree City, Amy Nicole Warren, of Fayetteville, Lethia Elizabeth Washington, of Fayetteville and Benjamin Marshall Watson, of Peachtree City.

• Kayla Chapman, a resident of Tyrone,was recognized for earning a spot on the Spring 2013 President’s List. To be eligible for the President’s List, a student must earn a semester GPA of 4.0 and take a minimum of 15 credit hours.
Georgia Southwestern State University, located in Americus, Ga., is a public, four-year unit of the University System of Georgia with 3,000 students.

• Lucas Bohler, a junior music production major from Peachtree City, made Malone University’s Dean’s List for the spring semester.
To be named to the Dean’s List, one must carry a minimum of twelve credit hours and receive a grade point average of 3.5 or better.


Ad space area 4 internal


Sponsored Content