Monday, Mar. 30, 2015    Login | Register           

Fayette election results

The final results are in for Fayette County, save for the mail-in absentee ballots, and Fayette County will have a new sheriff, former Fayette County sheriff's captain Barry Babb.

And voters regionwide have rejected the 10-year 1 percent sales tax for road and transit improvements by a wide margin with more than 409,000 votes against compared to over 242,000 with some precincts outstanding.

There will be a runoff for the Post 3 seat on the county commission between Randy Ognio and incumbent Lee Hearn; likewise there will also be a runoff for the Post 2 commission seat between David Barlow and Sheila Huddleston.

Barry Marchman and Mary Kay Bacallao won election as well, though Bacallao will face a challenger in the general election from Democrat Terri Smith.

Incumbent State Court Judge Carla McMillian won by nearly a 2 to 1 margin and Jason Thompson won the Post 1 seat on the Fayette County Magistrate Court.

Barry Babb 13,108
Wayne Hannah 7,362

County Commission Post 1:
Robert Horgan 6,084
Charles W. Oddo 13,660

County Commission Post 2:
David Barlow 7,619
Sheila Huddleston 7,355
Jack Smith 3,898

County Commission Post 3:
Lee Hearn 7,428
Randy Ognio 8,471
Susan Stopford 3,589

BoE Post 1:
Scott Hollowell 7,875
Barry Marchman 10,641

BoE Post 2:
Mary Kay Bacallo 12,308
Gary W. Griffin 5,732

State Court Judge:
Carla McMillian 16,553
Stephen D. Ott 8,385

Magistrate Judge Post 1:
Catherine Sanderson 10,723
Jason B. Thompson 13,133

TSPLOST (Fayette vote only):
Yes 6,499
No 21,213

All 40 votes in the town of Woolsey have been counted and the referendum on package alcohol sales ended in a 20-20 tie. One of the smallest areas in Fayette County, Woolsey has 108 registered voters.



PTC Observer's picture
NUK_1's picture

Ad space area 4 internal

Sponsored Content


Men are simple. They are not all that complex. Some time ago, a lady came to me to rant about her husband. “My husband never helps me with things that need to be done around the house!


Bob Ross receives GOP award.
Bob Ross (left) was recently recognized for his community service work by Scott Fabricius, outgoing chairman of the Fayette County Republican Party.