Wednesday, Dec. 7, 2016    Login | Register        

Congressman David Scott will speak at 15th annual Freedom Fund Banquet

The Freedom Fund Banquet Committee is planning its 15th Annual Freedom Fund Banquet scheduled for Saturday, October 27 at 6 p.m. at the Wyndham Peachtree Hotel in Peachtree City, an event you must attend.

This year’s banquet theme is “Protecting and Defending Civil Rights in the 21st Century.” The Keynote Speaker will be Congressman David Scott. David Scott is the U.S. Representative for the 13th District of Georgia. He is serving in his fifth term representing portions of 6 counties: Cobb, Clayton, Douglas, Fayette, Fulton, and Henry. Congressman Scott sits on a number of influential committees including:

• The Financial Services Committee – International Monetary Policy and Financial Institutions subcommittees.

• The Agriculture Committee – Livestock, Dairy and Poultry Subcommittee.

• NATO Parliamentary Assembly - General Rapporteur of the Science and Technology Committee.

Congressman Scott is providing leadership in strengthening our economy, improving healthcare, enhancing education and fostering energy independence.

Scott was born in Aynor, South Carolina and attended elementary school in Scranton, Pennsylvania; Junior High School in Scarsdale, New York; and High School in Daytona Beach, Florida. He received his BA degree, with honors, from Florida A&M University. He received his MBA degree with honors from the Wharton School of Finance at the University of Pennsylvania.

He is married to the former Alfredia Aaron and has two daughters, a son-in-law, and two grandchildren. Congressman Scott is the son of a minister and is a man of strong faith and conviction.

The Freedom Fighter Award Honoree is Rev. C.T. Vivian. 2012 Gold Medal Recipient Christian Taylor is the Youth Community Service Awardee, the Adult Community Service Awardee is Sam Sweat, Fayette County Board of Education and the organization awardee is Fellowship of Love Church of which Rev. BaSean Jackson is the pastor. Mr. Arnold Martin is the recipient of the President’s Award.

The Fayette County Community is invited to attend this special event, ticket price is $65. Tickets can also be purchased online at $70 each via the website

For tickets and more information, you may email the Branch, or contact the office, 770-460-9934.

Rev. Edward Johnson, Jr. is Chairperson.


Ad space area 4 internal