Sunday, Aug. 2, 2015    Login | Register           

Voting starts Monday at PTC, Tyrone libraries

Voters in Peachtree City and Tyrone can cast ballots at their respective libraries all next week.

The polling locations will be open from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m on Monday, Oct. 31 through Friday, Nov. 4.

Fayetteville voters may continue to cast their ballots during the same hours at the county’s elections office at the Fayette County administrative complex in downtown Fayetteville.

No voting will occur on Monday, Nov. 7, and voters waiting until election day Nov. 8 must cast their ballots at their regular polling place between 7 a.m. and 7 p.m.

Those waiting to vote until election day should make sure they know the correct precinct to visit because their precinct for county elections is in the county, while the municipal precinct is in the city limits, elections officials said.

To be certain of the location of your municipal voting precinct, please go to the Secretary of State’s “My Voter Page” ( and complete the personal information listed under “MVP log in” to pull up your personal voting information. Find your municipal polling place by clicking on the highlighted spot at the bottom of the column labeled “Your Polling Place for State & County Elections.”

This year, municipal voters won’t just be deciding on City Council candidates. Each jurisdiction is holding a referendum on whether the package sale of alcohol would be allowed on Sundays between 12:30 and 11:30 p.m. In Tyrone and Fayetteville, the referendum only applies to malt beverages and wine only, while in Peachtree City it also would apply to distilled spirits.

In Peachtree City, voters will be filling two of the five seats on the city council. Steve Allen is challenging incumbent Eric Imker for the Post 1 seat, while George Dienhart faces no opposition for the Post 2 seat.

In Fayetteville, voters will fill the mayor’s post as well as two seats on council. Long-serving Mayor Ken Steele faces a challenge from newcomer Greg Clifton, and the Post 1 race pits Edward Johnson against incumbent Wilson Price.

No matter what happens, Fayetteville will have a new face in the Post 2 seat, as incumbent Al Hovey-King has declined to seek re-election. Running for the Post 2 seat are Cathy Cochran and Mickey J. Edwards.

Tyrone voters will also be electing a mayor and two council members. The mayor’s race has Councilman Eric Dial facing newcomer Derrick L. Jackson. The Post 1 race features Linda M. Howard and Tammy Proctor, and candidates for the Post 2 seat are Pota Coston and Ryan Housley.



Are they going to post the early voting results or do we have to wait for the whole shebang to be over?

Betsy Tyler's picture

The Elections Office doesn't begin tabulating the votes and posting results until after all the polls close on Tuesday.

Betsy Tyler
Public Information Officer/City Clerk
City of Peachtree City

Ad space area 4 internal


Sgt. Odilia Bergh drives this motorized Yahama Viking side-by-side utility vehicle is now on-duty with the Peachtree City Police Department.

Sponsored Content


Sitting on the curb in front of 110 Flamingo Street, I smiled. It had been a good summer. No, the best summer ever.


Peachtree City Recreation and Special Events will host a Back to School Bash Saturday, Aug. 1, at the Glenloch Recreation Center (601 Stevens Entry).


The Starr's Mill High Schools Pantherettes dance team had a great week at UDA Camp at Auburn University earlier this summer.


“Ready, Set, Breakfast” is scheduled for Tuesday, Aug. 4, 10-11 a.m. at Fayette Senior Services’ Fayetteville location, The Life Enrichment Center, 4 Center Drive.