Wednesday, Aug. 5, 2015    Login | Register           

School employees honored for psychology advocacy

The Georgia Association of School Psychologists has recognized two Fayette County Public School employees for their efforts in encouraging the state to keep psychologists in public schools.
School Superintendent Dr. John DeCotis and Fayette County Alternative School principal Tim Carter were presented certificates of Excellence in Advocacy during a school system administrative meeting. Association president Deborah Crockett, who is also a school psychologist for the school system, surprised the two recipients with the awards.
“Last year when the state was considering removing school psychologists, I asked Dr. DeCotis and Mr. Carter to write letters of support emphasizing the value of school psychologists. Both of them did and we are still here thanks to their efforts,” says Crockett.
School psychologists are state and nationally certified professionals. They help students who are having learning, behavioral and emotional problems by conducting comprehensive psycho-educational assessments and interventions. They also serve the school system by consulting with teachers, parents and administrators, aiding them with information and recommendations; conduct research to help promote effective forms of learning, discipline and social interaction; and are liaisons and effective personnel in the event of a crisis, helping to alleviate the stressors and promote a healthy transition in the schools and community.


Ad space area 4 internal

Sponsored Content


There we were in the hospital waiting for the doctor to listen to the first heartbeat of the latest addition to our family.


The Hogansville Charitable Trust has selected the artwork that will represent this year’s Hogansville Hummingbird Festival posters, guidebooks, and T-shirts.  The nonprofit organization sponsors th


The Starr's Mill High Schools Pantherettes dance team had a great week at UDA Camp at Auburn University earlier this summer.


Jean Jones is a member of the Newnan-Coweta Art Association and is a national award winning watercolorist and Signature Member of the Georgia Watercolor Society.